Advisory Committee for Research Prizes and Awards

Established in 2013 by the Office of the Vice-President, Research (OVPR) as part of its commitment to increase the recognition of research excellence at the University of Ottawa, the Vice-President, Research’s Advisory Committee for Prizes and Awards assists the OVPR in the identification and nomination of faculty for prestigious prizes and awards on the national and international stage.

Committee members are accomplished researchers appointed by the Vice-President, Research, in consultation with the Deans. In addition to identifying meritorious individuals in their respective Faculty, Committee members offer help and guidance for putting together high-quality nomination packages. The Committee’s founding Chair is Professor Constance Backhouse from the Faculty of Law – Common Law Section. She was succeeded by Professor Chad Gaffield from the Faculty of Arts in 2015.


Members of the Vice-President, Research’s Advisory Committee for Prizes and Awards
Name Faculty Role
Chris Kennedy Medicine Chair
Dennis Ott Arts Member
Nathalie Bélanger Education Member
Handan Tezel Engineering Member
Janet Squires Health Sciences Member
Katherine Lippel Law (Civil) Member
Penelope Simons Law (Common) Member
Muralee Murugesu Science Member
Nafissa Ismail Social Sciences Member
Cheryl McWatters Telfer School of Management Member

Related Links

Back to top