Research Chairs Evaluation Committee

The Research Chairs Evaluation Committee (RCEC) is composed of members representing research fields funded by Canada's three federal granting agencies (CIHR, NSERC, SSHRC). 

Committee members serve a one-year term, which may be renewed. The selection of members takes into account the Office of the Vice-President Research’s commitment to ensure diversity and to promote equity and inclusivity with regards to the four designated groups in Canada: women, Aboriginal peoples, members of visible minorities, and persons with disabilities.

The RCEC's mandate is to evaluate new and renewal nominations submitted for the following categories of Chairs: Canada Research Chairs; University Research Chairs; and Chaires de Recherche sur le Monde Francophone.  All nominations are subject to the highest evaluation criteria as set out by the federal government’s Canada Research Chairs Program.


Research Chairs Evaluation Committee Membership List

Member Faculty Department Tri-Agency Representation Title
Sylvain Charbonneau     NSERC Vice President, Research; Chair
Martine Lagacé Arts Communication SSHRC Associate Vice-President, Research, Promotion and Development; Full Professor
Guy Levesque     NSERC Associate Vice-President, Research Support and Infrastructure
Laurie Chan Science Biology NSERC/CIHR Full Professor
Lionel Briand Engineering School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science NSERC Full Professor
Muralee Murugesu Science Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences NSERC Full Professor
Ebrahim Karimi Science Physics NSERC Associate Professor
Kelly Bronson Social Sciences School of Sociological and Anthropological Studies SSHRC Assistant Professor
Jackie Dawson Arts Geography SSHRC Associate Professor
Céline Castets-Renard Law Civil law Section SSHRC Full Professor
Dave Holmes Health Sciences School of Nursing SSHRC/CIHR Full Professor
Julie St-Pierre Medicine Biochemistry, Microbiology, Immunology CIHR Associate Professor
Rashmi Kothary Medicine Cellular and Molecular Medicine CIHR Deputy Scientific Director and Senior Scientist at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI); Full Professor
Hanns Lochmüller Medicine Pediatrics CIHR Senior Scientist, Molecular Biomedicine Program, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) Research Institute, Full Professor
Tricia McGuire-Adams Education -- CIHR Assistant Professor
Back to top