Robert Boyd


Robert Boyd

Bureau: 613-562-5800 ext. 7037
Courriel professionnel:

Robert Boyd


Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Nonlinear Optics

Faculty of Science
Department of Physics

This Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Nonlinear Optics, led by professor Robert Boyd, a pioneer and world leader in photonics, nanophotonics and quantum optics, aims to establish a world-class research program in Nanophotonics Methods for Quantum Nonlinear Optics at the University of Ottawa.

The program will use nanotechnology to fabricate materials, structures and devices with properties specifically tailored to important technological applications.

The program will focus on five interrelated topics:

  1. Slow light using nano-structured materials which will enable novel structures and devices for use in telecommunications, laser radar and other applications;
  2. Fabrication of photonic crystals used in the construction of photonic devices including slow-light devices
  3. Nanostructures for photonics developed and optimized to enhance light-matter interactions for applications in efficient solar energy conversion, quantum information science and other areas;
  4. Imaging with a single photon to determine how much information can be impressed onto a single photon. The applications of this research include surveillance at minimum illumination levels and the secure transfer of image information;
  5. Quantum communication using Orbital Angular Momentum (OAM) states of light which involves impressing quantum information onto the OAM states of a single photon. This can facilitate secure communication at increased information transfer rates.

This program lies at the interface between science and engineering. It has important implications in fields as diverse as communications technology, solar energy conversion and biomedical imaging, all of which will be hugely important in the coming years.

Featured Awards and Recognition

  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2019)
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2018)
  • Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (2017)
  • Charles Hard Townes Award (2016)
  • Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science (2015)
  • Quantum Electronics Award (2014)
  • Honorary Doctorate from the University of Glasgow (2014)
  • Fellow of the International Society for Optics and Photonics (2014)
  • Humboldt Research Award (2010)
  • Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics (2009)
  • Fellow of the American Physical Society (2001)
  • Fellow of the Optical Society of America (1986)
Back to top