University of Ottawa recognizes two talented young researchers

Posted on Thursday, January 24, 2013

OTTAWA, January 24, 2013 — The University of Ottawa is delighted to announce that professors Marie-Eve Sylvestre, from the Faculty of Law (Civil Law), and Muralee Murugesu, from the Faculty of Science (Chemistry), are the winners of the Young Researcher of the Year Award. This award is presented annually to two University of Ottawa faculty members who have made exceptional contributions to research and student mentorship.

“Marie-Eve and Muralee are now recognized as rising stars in their fields and are true role models for the next generation of researchers. The University community wholeheartedly congratulates them,” said Mona Nemer, Vice-President, Research.

Marie-Eve Sylvestre is an associate professor of civil law and is internationally acclaimed for her critical perspective on the criminal justice system. Her unique and rigorous research program looks at the various ways in which the penal system controls poor and marginalized populations, particularly those who occupy public spaces, and how it contributes to the creation and multiplication of inequalities, poverty and social exclusion. She has led several highly funded research projects, has published abundantly in Canadian and international journals and has attracted significant media coverage. In the classroom, graduate students appreciate her exceptional ability to transfer her knowledge of contemporary theory.  

Since his arrival at the University of Ottawa in 2006, Professor Muralee Murugesu has built a reputation as one of the world’s top young experts in transitional metal chemistry. His research focuses on designing and synthesising new nanoscale inorganic materials to better understand their physical properties, such as magnetism, conductivity and optical characteristics. He employs a number of innovative synthetic approaches with the aim of isolating new magnetic materials. His research could pave the way for faster and more energy-efficient electronics and higher-density data storage. In addition to publishing his research in several peer-reviewed journals, Professor Murugesu has mentored over 40 undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral students.

The Young Researcher of the Year Award was created in 1995 to recognize excellence and encourage leadership and innovation. Each award is accompanied by a $10,000 research grant.

The University of Ottawa is committed to research excellence and encourages an interdisciplinary approach to knowledge creation, which attracts the best academic talent from across Canada and around the world. The University plays an important role in the economic development of the National Capital Region.


Néomie Duval
Media Relations Officer
University of Ottawa
Office: 613-562-5800 ext. 2981
Cell: 613-863-7221

Back to top