Accomplished young researchers honoured by uOttawa

Posted on Wednesday, February 17, 2016

OTTAWA, February 17, 2016 — The University of Ottawa is pleased to announce that Suzanne Bouclin and Karin Hinzer are the recipients of the Young Researcher of the Year Award. The two professors are being recognized for their exceptional contributions to research, as well as for their role in effectively training students.

“I congratulate these two brilliant women who’ve made it their goal to push the frontiers of research, innovate to improve the lives of Canadians, and prepare the future generation of leaders,” said Mona Nemer, Vice-President, Research.

Suzanne Bouclin joined the Faculty of Law in 2011 and quickly emerged as one of the Faculty’s most promising researchers. She is committed to promoting equality and social justice, and her ground-breaking work seeks to improve access to justice by deploying popular new media technologies to challenge inequalities and to increase legal literacy. Her work ranges from developing a mobile legal clinic for Ottawa's homeless people, to exploring how movies and new media can call attention to the experiences of marginalized groups, to her considerable community volunteer efforts. Professor Bouclin is a leader in researching and challenging the legal profession’s systemic failure to address issues related to access to justice for marginalized people.

Karin Hinzer is Associate Professor at the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and a Canada Research Chair in Photonic Nanostructures and Integrated Devices. Her research aims to further the development of multijunction photovoltaic solar cells, which promise to improve renewable energy generation in several ways, including by lowering the cost of higher efficiency energy panels that could operate in both desert-like conditions and more temperate areas, such as Ontario.  Professor Hinzer has successfully conducted  cutting-edge research while generously spending time to train highly-skilled personnel.

The Young Researcher of the Year Award was created in 1995 to recognize excellence and encourage leadership and innovation among young researchers. The award includes a $10,000 research grant. 

Back to top