2017 Schawlow-Townes Symposium on Photonics

Decorative image

October 12, 2017 - 9:00am to 5:00pm

Shaw Center
55 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON

Colonel By South Foyer


This annual symposium aims to bring to light the research and discoveries of photonics experts from across Canada and from around the world.

Bridging the gap between theory, research and applied science, the Schawlow-Townes Symposium explores the science of light from all angles. It’s a gathering of the brightest minds in the field who, like the symposium’s namesakes, continually strive to push the boundaries of photonics.

9:00 to 9:45
Registration, coffee, and networking

9:45 to 10:00
Welcome words

10:00 to 10:30
David Jones
Associate Professor, Quantum Matter Institute, University of British Columbia

10:30 to 11:00
Nicholas Karpowicz
Scientist, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics

11:00 to 11:30
Eugene Arthurs
Chief Executive Director, SPIE

11:30 to 12:00
Marie D’Iorio
FRSC, Executive Director of Light-Matter Interaction, University of Ottawa

12:00 to 14:00
Lunch and Poster Session

14:00 to 15:00
Florian Marquardt
​​​​​​​Director of the Theory Division, Max Planck Institute for Science of Light

15:00 to 16:00
Keith A. Nelson
Haslam and Dewey Professor of Chemistry, MIT

16:00 to 17:00
Margaret M. Murnane
​​​​​​​Professor of Physics and ECE, University of Colorado



Registration to the Schawlow-Townes Symposium a has reached its limit. If you would still like to attend this event, we encourage you to contact Melanie Bellefeuille to be added to the spillover list. If spots open up prior to the event we will notify you. Otherwise you may present yourself the day of the event at 10:00 am, and if there are any additional spots that open up we will issue you a badge.

Thank you for your interest in attending this event. We will endeavour to expand our attendance capacity next year, so make sure to register well in advance.


Back to top