Research chairs: Five outstanding researchers stand out

Professors Ivy Lynn Bourgeault, Paul Daly, Karin Hinzer, Michael Williams and Julian Little

The University of Ottawa is proud to announce the awarding of four new University Research Chairs and a new Distinguished Research Chair to five experienced researchers in fields as wide-ranging as diversity, law, photonics, world politics and epidemiology.

“Awarding these research chairs will allow high-level researchers to increase our discoveries in strategically important fields for our university,” said Sylvain Charbonneau, uOttawa vice-president, research. 


The four University Research Chair holders are:

Ivy Lynn Bourgeault (Telfer School of Management) – University Research Chair in Gender, Diversity and the Professions

Ivy Lynn Bourgeault aims to significantly advance scholarship and interventions concerning greater equity, diversity and inclusion of all women in leadership of different professions and their experience of psychological health and safety at work.

Paul Daly (Faculty of Law – Common Law Section) – University Research Chair in Administrative Law and Governance

The focus of Paul Daly’s research is the set of principles and procedures that guide the thousands of decisions made every day by Canada’s many administrative agencies, which are tasked with reaching lawful, reasonable and fair determinations on a vast array of issues affecting Canadians, ranging from complex social welfare claims to the amount of French-language content on cable television.

Karin Hinzer (Faculty of Engineering) – University Research Chair in Photonic Devices for Energy

Karin Hinzer is advancing novel concepts in photonics and nanophotonics, driving new architectures and markets in energy, power and data communications.

Michael Williams (Faculty of Social Sciences) – University Research Chair in Global Political Thought

Michael Williams’ chair will focus on the impact of ideas on international politics. The chair will place current far right parties, movements and ideas in the context of both their cross-national ideological/organizational linkages and their long historical/ideological foundations. This will provide a comprehensive intellectual and institutional analysis of wider dynamics of radical conservatism, as well as focused analysis of some of the most important and revealing areas of radical conservatism’s current impact and a critical appraisal of their implications.


The holder of the Distinguished Research Chair is:

Julian Little (Faculty of Medicine) – Distinguished Research Chair in Chronic Disease Epidemiology and Control.

Julian Little is a leader in human-genome epidemiology. He aims to continue his activities in the area of congenital anomalies and transition to focus on other chronic conditions, especially psychosis and affective psychosis.


Photo, from left to right: Professors Ivy Lynn Bourgeault, Paul Daly, Karin Hinzer, Michael Williams and Julian Little

Back to top