University Award Laureates

The University of Ottawa honours the outstanding contributions made by its research community.

Association of Professors of the University of Ottawa - Award for Excellence in Research

Established in 1964, the University of Ottawa Researcher of the Year Award is given in every academic year in which appropriate candidates are nominated. The objective of the award is to focus attention on research at the University of Ottawa by recognizing a member of its teaching staff who has earned distinction for themselves and for the University as a result of the importance and exceptional characteristics of their research work. 

For information on how to submit a nomination.

Latest Recipients

University of Ottawa 150th Anniversary Medal for Research

Latest Recipients

Young Researcher of the Year Award

The Young Researcher of the Year Award is presented annually to faculty members who have made exceptional contributions to research at the University of Ottawa. Two prizes are awarded: one in the humanities and social sciences and the other in the pure and applied sciences.

To be admissible, the researcher must hold a full-time tenured or tenure-track position at the university or a regular position at an affiliated institute. At the time of nomination, the nominee should have completed at least two years, but no more than seven years in this position.

** the eligibility window can be adjusted to take into account instances where a researcher has had an acceptable delay in research or period of inactivity (illness, parental leave, etc.).

Each award is accompanied by a bursary of $10,000 to go towards the remuneration of a graduate student supervised by the recipient. It is also anticipated that, in the year of the award, the recipient will have no administrative responsibilities and will receive partial teaching relief as determined by the Faculty Dean.

Please consult the guidelines (pdf, 56.4 KB) for information on how to submit a nomination.

For more information. please contact:


    Back to top